Birthday Blessings

Yesterday was a special day for my family and my father. We celebrated his 85th birthday with family and friends. I am fortunate to celebrate the 85 years (and counting) of my dad with everyone. It is a gift to have time to share and stories to tell.

Upon reflection, I think about how each person, family, and community finds ways to celebrate each other and relationship. The variations in how we create relationship is fascinating to me. I really appreciate that everyone does their best to engage in a way that is meaningful to them. Big parties, stopping by for coffee, or a quick phone call, each is a way to connect, all are creating relationship and appreciated.

As I was sharing with friends about this special event, we discussed the invitations, the preparations, the venue – all the “things” we do to gather and celebrate. I love doing the preparations and setting the stage for the event. However, I try to reflect on the purpose of celebrating the long and rich engagements my dad has been a part of over the years. A good reminder that every part of the plan was for the most important part – family and friends gathering for Dad!

I am grateful that those who could come, came, and shared their stories, and connected with Dad. Many others sent their greetings and best wishes for him to have a fantastic celebration. I am thankful to those who were unable to attend and sent their love and memories through a card, a call, or a visit. There is no greater gift than sharing a moment, listening to a story, and reflecting on how very fortunate we are to celebrate every birthday!

On this day, I am thankful for my family and friends and all they contribute to my well-being. You may not be aware, but I appreciate each of you.

Deeply grateful,

Jeanine

Leave a comment